SCIE Eight Dignity Factors

The Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) has identified the following eight dignity factors:



Use to answer question 5.1c of the Care Certificate

All of these factors should be present when you are engaged in providing care and/or support:

Choice and control

Enabling people to make choices about the way they live and the care they receive.


Speaking to people respectfully and listening to what they have to say; ensuring clear dialogue between workers and services

Eating and nutritional care

Providing a choice of nutritious, appetising meals, that meet the needs and choices of individuals, and support with eating where needed.

Pain management

Ensuring that people living with pain have the right help and medication to reduce suffering and improve their quality of life.

Personal hygiene

Enabling people to maintain their usual standards of personal hygiene.

Practical assistance

Enabling people to maintain their independence by providing ‘that little bit of help’.


Respecting people’s personal space, privacy in personal care and confidentiality of personal information

Social inclusion

Supporting people to keep in contact with family and friends, and to participate in social activities.


Use to answer question 5.1c of the Care Certificate

very proud to be working with...